Skip to content

Three Days with Uncle Max

August 30, 2010

I just got home this afternoon from spending 3 days down the South Coast with about 14 other people learning the Lore, knowledge and spirituality of the Yuin People (an Aboriginal Nation of the south-east corner of NSW) with Uncle Max Harrison*.

We didn't need to walk far for Uncle to find a million things to tell us about...

It was an incredible time, and I feel so blessed to have been able to participate, and to have found Uncle Max. He’s truly an extraordinary soul. His teachings are given quietly and deceptively simply, bypassing the mind and landing, smack, in the heart.

Uncle Max also very obviously teaches out of love for his Country, a love for his culture (a culture that is, like many Aboriginal cultures, in very serious threat of being lost forever) and a strong feeling of responsibility for keeping this culture alive by passing it on to people who will hold it in turn.

It’s going to take me some time to fully process the weekend and all that we shared and learnt. It will also take me a little while to figure out the best way to share what I can with you here. Suffice it to say (for now), that it has been one of the most important, most beautiful, and most transformative times of my life.

I feel like I’ve spent the past three days with my heart broken wide open and I’m still reeling.

The ludicrously beautiful Swan Lake, where we stayed for the weekend.

*”Uncle” and “Aunty” are terms of respect and affection for Aboriginal Elders.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 12:37 am

    What an honor to attend this gathering! I look forward to what you share about it.

Leave a Reply

