Skip to content

A Perfect Protest

September 29, 2010

Now, this is something I can get behind!

An awesome lady called Brené Brown has written a new book call The Gifts of Imperfection, and in celebration has started a little week-long movement called The Perfect Protest. She says clever things like:

Being our best selves is about cultivating the courage to be vulnerable, authentic, and imperfect. Perfectionism, on the other hand, is the belief that if we live perfect, look perfect, and act perfect, we can minimize or avoid the pain of blame, judgment, and shame. It’s that simple. Perfection is not about healthy striving or being our best, it’s how we protect ourselves.

Did you get a little “ooh!” from reading that like I did? “Best selves” vs. “Perfect”? I like it!

I’ve started to truly recognise recently that we’re all dealing with our own shit. We’re all of us struggling with our own inner demons, our own unhealthy patterns, and we’re all often failing to live up to our own unrealistic expectations. We often assume the best of other people’s lives and create mile-long fictional yardsticks. All the better to beat ourselves with, I guess.

The thing is though, we can only have true compassion for others if we first have it for ourselves; if we acknowledge that none of this is easy and we’re all really doing the best we can with what we’ve got. And that’s okay. In fact, it’s better than okay; it’s admirable and in many cases downright bloody heroic.

Now, I “know” that imperfection is normal and it’s what makes us who we are, but I, like most people I suspect, have trouble remembering that and actually believing it. I’m so imperfect it’s not funny. Or maybe it is. I’m messy, disorganised, scatter-brained, I procrastinate dreadfully and am chronically unable to dedicate myself to a single pursuit for more than a few weeks. My life is full of “I shoulds”. (And how’s about this blog?? All I can say is I DID warn you (to tell the truth though, I kinda like this blog being a bit haphazard and patchy, it’s a pretty fair representation, I reckon))

I’m not perfect, but I’m gonna do my darnedest to remember that none of us are, and thank God for that!

To see the Perfect Protests of Brené and others go here, and consider getting involved.

Edit: Check out some of my favourite Perfect Protests, they’re FAB! Leonie Wise, Jen Gray (perfectionism blows, indeed), Andrea Scher, and of course Marianne Elliott.

Lottsa love ladies! x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 12:50 am

    *love*

  2. October 1, 2010 1:39 am

    I’m so not perfect either and like you my blog is all over the place – I blog about what I want to when I want to.

    I blog hopped over from the ordinary courage.

  3. October 1, 2010 4:28 am

    Loved your post, especially the, “mile-long fictional yardsticks” bit. Nice. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  4. October 2, 2010 9:59 pm

    you = beautiful!

  5. Celina Wyss permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:11 pm

    Love it! I agree most of all it is disappointment of living up to our own expectations.

Leave a Reply

