Skip to content

Going Bush

March 20, 2011

I don’t know how to write about this. I’ve circled it over and over for weeks, knowing that I should, that I need to, but it’s continued to elude me.

The fact is that right now I’m only 15 short weeks away from changing my life almost completely. I’m going to leave my (fantastic) job, I’m going to pack up all my stuff and leave my lovely, comfortable home. I’m going to say tearful goodbyes to my dear friends and head off. Yep, I’m upping stumps and Going Bush. For real.

In a nutshell, the plan is to go WWOOFing, living and working on organic farms all around Australia for as long as my savings hold out. I’ll be traveling for year at the very least, and I doubt I’ll return to Sydney when I finally stop.

The seed of this idea planted itself in my mind toward the end of last year and very quickly grew from being “a wonderful dream” into “a thing I need to do”. With just over three months to go I’m now living in a world of lists, things to buy, things to do, budgets, maps and draft itineraries.

I think the reason I find it so hard to write about this plan is the huge number of facets to it in my mind. There’s all the practicalities of the planning, the budgeting, finding a 2nd-hand 4WD, writing itineraries etc. There’s the enormous sadness of leaving my job, my home, my city, my familiar haunts and my friends. There’s the fear of taking a leap into the unknown, the pushing of just about every one of my boundaries, contemplating being unemployed and “of no fixed address” for the foreseeable future. That hotcold seasickness of letting go.

And then there’s the other, the reason why. And this… this I don’t know how to put into words. There’s that nameless feeling I get when I see distant hills, when I see a horizon, a sunrise or a sunset. A very physical sensation pulling at my centre, a sharp and insistent tug. “Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go…”

Swan Lake, South Coast NSW

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Great H permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:14 am

    Nice! You can wwoof over here too BTW, if you ever run out of Australia! http://www.wwoof.co.nz

    • March 21, 2011 11:50 am

      Trust me, that idea hasn’t escaped me 😉
      I am hoping I might be able to WWOOF in NZ for a couple of months….

  2. March 21, 2011 8:59 am

    It struck me how easy it would be to mishear “Let’s go, let’s go, let’s go” as “Let go, let go, let go.” – I’m sure a little of both is required, but it’s the going that calls you now. I’m here cheering you on, even as I hear (despite my own resistance) the call to stay, stay, stay

    • March 21, 2011 11:55 am

      Thanks Marianne, and you’re so right!
      It’s interesting how people’s personal challenges can be polar opposites, and yet no less real, important or challenging.

Trackbacks

  1. I’m on my way « Going Bush

Leave a Reply

