Skip to content

I’m on my way

July 17, 2011

So, as mentioned previously, I am going bush.

Missy and I meet in Hervey Bay. Love at first sight.

I’ve been thinking, planning and working for the past six months towards beginning a journey and the time’s finally come to make good on my promise to myself. Tomorrow morning I’ll be leaving my mum’s place to head north. I now have my 2nd hand 4WD (an awesome ’91 Landcruiser I’ve named Missy) and she and I are going to take our sweet time and drive up to Kuranda, just north of Cairns, Queensland. The plan is to take about 10 days to drive up there, camping along the way, and then to finally start WWOOFing once I get there.

Where? Here:

For those who are scared and confused; WWOOF stands for Willing Workers on Organic Farms. It’s a brilliant concept, started in the UK, for people to work on organic farms in exchange for board and lodging as well, of course, as an amazing experience and the opportunity to learn new skills and meet interesting people. Ever since I went to Agricultural College I’ve had a great interest in organic and biodynamic farming, as well as permaculture principles, so this idea suits me to an absolute T.

Reading the WWOOF book and trying to choose where to visit is a bit like browsing a catalogue of ideal (for me) lifestyles. Phrases like “old growth rainforest”, “abundant wildlife”, “self sufficient”, “mudbrick house”, and long lists of pets (dogs, cats, goats, horses, chickens, “huggable steers”, you name it) have me mentally salivating. I’m so excited to get out there, see these places and meet the people living these lives. What a bloody hippy, right?

Once I start in Kuranda, I’m planning to then WWOOF around Australia, in all sorts of places and on all sorts of properties, for at least a year and probably closer to two. After I stop I don’t know where I’ll choose to stay or what I’ll choose to do.

It’s been a huge job just getting to this point. At Easter I flew up to Hervey Bay in Qld to buy Missy, as she’d been found and checked out by family friends for me. Once up there I took three days to learn how to drive a manual vehicle, visited Fraser Island, and then took another four days to drive back down to Sydney. I’ve since done a brilliant two day 4WDing course in Lithgow which was challenging, but a great way to find out what Missy and I are capable of together.

In the past few weeks I’ve finished up at the job I loved, packed up and moved most of my belongings into storage, attended the wedding of one of my oldest and dearest friends and prepared as best I can for living out of a car for the foreseeable future.

Leaving Sydney.

And yet, even still it doesn’t entirely seem real (despite having taken to unemployment like a duck to water…). I can only imagine what the next few weeks, months, and even years have in store, and I can’t wait to find out.

Thank you for visiting me here, and huge thanks to my friends and loved ones who have been incredibly supportive throughout this whole crazy process. I’ll continue to update here (hopefully a lot more regularly than I have done!) and would love it if you want to come along for the ride.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 6:43 am

    You and Missy are going to have one helluva journey – get out there and hug some steers for me. x

  2. July 18, 2011 3:57 pm

    Good for you, lil’ Hel !!! Follow that dream and be sure and visit David & I on our farm when next you get back down this way… And, don’t forget your ukulele!!!! xxxxx

  3. Liz permalink
    July 18, 2011 5:19 pm

    Yaaaaay! So exciting for you. I am totally going to live a vicarious office-free life through you for the next few months! xoxoxoxo

  4. Eleanor permalink
    July 19, 2011 4:19 am

    Huzzaaaaah! Off onto the open road! Good luck and big grins and hugs xoxo

  5. Pete permalink
    July 19, 2011 6:13 pm

    Helen – have a wonderful adventure! Those of us too useless to break out of the everyday will be living vicariously through it! Pete

Leave a Reply

