Skip to content

Platypus Bush Camp

July 28, 2011

I’ve made it to Kuranda, my Final Destination (for now)! Hooray!

I’m going to do an overall post regarding my trip up here, but firstly a few posts regarding some of the absolute highlights. 

Platypus Bush Camp is an amazing little place in Finch Hatton Gorge, near Eungella and Eungella National Park. Owned and run by the amazing, irrepressible “Wazza” for the past 20-odd years, it’s a true gem tucked away off the beaten track. The rainforest setting is gorgeous and Wazza has created a place (predominantly from wooden slab and found items) that feels like it’s grown with the trees that surround it.

In some ways it’s not for the faint-hearted, the showers are completely open on one side to the rainforest (bliss!), and the huts are even more open to the elements, but it all adds to the charm and feeling of really “being amongst it”.

I spent two nights at the camp and met some fantastic people including, of course, Wazza and his dog “Dog” (when I enquired Wazza said “Her name’s Dog. Ya just a dog, ain’t ya?”, scruffing her head), and two cockatoos Rocky and Rhoda. Wazza found Rhoda on the side of the road (yes, hence the name) about 20 years ago, with a badly broken wing. She’s now quite obviously devoted to him.

And, of course, the eponymous platypus. I was lucky enough to see him (her?) three times, both evenings I was there and also my second morning. Due to the cold and damp I was a little grumblesome about getting up at 6:20am, but then reminded myself that I was doing so on a Monday morning to go and watch a platypus and not to catch a train, and so basically to shut the hell up. I was lucky enough that morning to not only watch the platypus for some time, but also to see a gorgeous little kingfisher sitting in the branches above and diving to catch gribblies disturbed by the platypus’ industrious activity.

What a place. I’ll definitely be back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

