Skip to content

Cape Tribulation

August 18, 2011

So yes, it’s been a while. Thanks for bearing with me.

A couple of days ago I finished my two weeks with Ally and Pete in Kuranda, and had a wonderful time (more on that soon). While staying with them, though, I took a few days out to head up to Cape Tribulation to see the Daintree Rainforest. I’ve had a bit of a fascination for the Daintree since growing up with the gorgeous book Where the Forest Meets the Sea. If you know any small children, please do them a huge favour and get them a copy of that book.

I booked in to stay at the Noah Beach campground ($5.15 a night, thanks National Parks!), on recommendation from a friend, as well as my Cool Camping Australia book. And it was amazing. As you can see from the picture, the little campsites were completely surrounded by the rainforest. What you can’t see is that the beach was so close there was the constant sound of the surf. Yup, amazing.

The one caveat to that site was the little native white-tailed rat that took a shine to my tent. After he nibbled a hole into my tube of condensed milk (completely ignoring the neighboring muesli bar), I was forced to any and all food and food-smelling items into the main tent with me. A practise that I’m now getting used to…

I loved walking along Noah Beach, especially at dawn. There was a wonderful ancient wilderness feeling to those dark hills with their heads in the clouds, and the beach was serene and empty. Also each morning, for some reason utterly unknown to me, dozens of butterflies could be seen flying with uncharacteristic purpose South along the edge of the rainforest. Strange and beautiful.

I decided that while I was in the area I did need to do a couple of the tourist-y things, and so went on a croc-spotting tour along Coopers Creek (the mouth of which I had unwittingly walked near the previous day. Whoops), and an exotic fruit tasting at the Cape Trib Exotic Fruit Farm. Both were excellent experiences, but I think my favourite was actually the fruit tasting. I’m tempted to make “a climate conducive to growing Soursop” a must-have on my Where to Live list… it was SO GOOD.

One Comment leave one →
  1. SamSamSam permalink
    August 19, 2011 4:04 pm

    You’re lucky to have your tent in one piece. When I camped in the Daintree and kept food in my tent, the ants ate through the floor of my tent to get to the food! Ah, soursop……..how I long for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

